Blackshirts News · 2020 Athletic Department Special Awards

Each year, the Athletic Department honors all Scholar Athletes at the Scholar Athlete Banquet. As part of this banquet, the department also recognizes a select group of students that have gone above and beyond by presenting them with special awards. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we’ve had to move our awards to a virtual platform. While we wish we could celebrate them in person, we are pleased to announce the winners virtually.

Head swim coach, Blaine Carlson, has provided us with a special message to all of our Scholar and award winning athletes.


2019-20 Athletic Department Awards

The Athletic Department is pleased to announce the winners of the 2019-20 special awards. Please join us in congratulating the following students on winning a  2020 special award. We are very proud of each of you.

We will be featuring each award winner over the next two weeks. Please watch our website and follow our social media to learn more about each of these athletes. 

Congratulations. #BlackshirtPride


Sportsmanship Award

The Sportsmanship Award is presented annually to an athlete who demonstrates positive leadership in athletics as well as in the classroom.  This athlete sets an example for his or her teammates in maintaining composure at all times in victory and in defeat.  The Sportsmanship Award is not based solely on athletic ability, but recognizes the team-oriented athlete who is willing to make personal sacrifices for his or her teammates.  

Annie Johnson

Taylor Short

Liz Stillman

Alex Bartosz

Geramiah Drew:  Coach Raebel/Coach Dood

Isaiah Grove

Unsung Athletic Award

The Unsung Athletic Award is awarded to a male or female senior athlete who did not receive any conference recognition 1st/2nd team.  They may have received an honorable mention.  This senior must be a multi sport athlete.  This award  is for a senior who may have overcome a physical disability or some other adversity

Julia Herod

Brianna Luebstorf

Tanner Urban

Outstanding Athletic Achievement

The Outstanding Athletic Achievement Award is presented to athletes from any grade level who have achieved outstanding excellence at the conference, state and national levels.  Academic achievement is also considered in choosing the recipient of this award.  The award winners for both male and female are displayed on plaques dedicated to the memory of longtime Waukesha High School teacher and Coach Lee Saubert.

Abby Carlson

Sam Pilon

Caleb Blischke

Mabel Amundson Scholarship ($375)

The Mabel Amundson Scholarship is awarded to a female who displays character, scholastic achievement and participates in athletics and physical education activities. The award is named after Mabel “Ammie” Amundson, a long time physical education teacher at Waukesha South High School.

Kelly Enriquez

Ken Hollub Memorial Scholarship ($500)

The recipient of this award will be one male athlete, who will attend a two or four year college or technical school.

Tyler Roob

Norm Seeling Scholar Athlete Scholarship ($800 each)

The recipient of this award is presented to a college bound male and female who has lettered at the varsity level and ranks in the top 1/3 of their graduating class.  The winners have demonstrates the following qualities in descending order of importance:


  • High athletic and academic achievement compared to potential
  • Consistent hard work and effort as a student/athlete
  • Good character and citizenship
  • Development and improvement as an athlete
  • Involved in non-athletic extracurricular activities
  • If applicable, overcomes difficulties due to illness or injury
  • Adherence to the athletic code


Maggie Scanlon

Nolan Scanlan

Most Improved Senior Athlete

The Most Improved Athlete Award is given to an athlete who has demonstrated significant improvement during their high school career.  Attitude and team spirit are also taken into consideration.

Corrin Harrington

Jess Kragenbrink

Niko Babicic

Blake Baertlein

Sean Larsen

Classic 8 Scholar Athlete Awards

The following Senior Athletes have achieved a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or above, are multi-sport athletes (at least one sport has to be C8 sponsored), participated in their Senior year and have had no Code Violations.

Noah Mroz

Sydney Strum

Brycen Kirsch

Corrin Harrington

Liz Stillman

Alex Kaminski

Tyler Roob

Taylor Short

Arin Lawrence

Nick Waggoner

WIAA Scholar Athlete

Each HS in the state of Wisconsin may nominate a male and female student athlete as a Scholar Athlete Award Winner.  To be eligible the following criteria must be met:


  • Earned 4 varsity letters through the winter season of the senior year.
  • Cumulative GPA of at least a 3.0 on a 4.0 scale through the end of the 1st semester of the Sr. year
  • Athletic Code violations should be considered in the selection process 


Sydney Strum

Brycen Kirsch

Dave Rusch Senior Character Award

This award honors one male and one female senior athlete for extraordinary service in pursuing victory with honor.  Despite the attention that poor behavior and bad sportsmanship attracts, there are plenty of positive role models and high school players who demonstrate positive character in sports.  Please nominate any male or female senior athlete who has demonstrated extraordinary service in the sports community while modeling the basic traits of good character: trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, fairness, caring, and citizenship.



  • Being respectful to opponents and game officials
  • Treating all team players fairly, giving attention to all players regardless of skill level
  • Giving respect and consideration to other team members
  • Helping teammates with words of encouragement and inspiration
  • Playing true to the spirit and rules of the game, and promoting friendly competition
  • Exhibiting courage in defeat, and moderation in victory
  • Showing a willingness to sacrifice personal goals for those the team
  • Giving back to the team or program by helping when able
  • No athletic code violations
  • Senior athlete who has played at least one sport their senior year


Helen Boudry

Sydney Strum

Evan Hein

Nicholas Waggoner

Blackshirt Spirit Award

The Blackshirt Spirit Award is presented annually to a student involved in our athletic program(s) who goes above and beyond the definition of school spirit. This individual positively influences Waukesha South High School and the Blackshirt community. This student-athlete encourages school participation, shares his/her Blackshirt spirit on a daily basis, and sparks engagement within Waukesha South High School and the Blackshirt community.

Logan “Big Papi” Carter

Most Valuable Senior Athlete

The Most Valuable Senior Athlete Award recognizes athletes who have earned considerable achievements in multiple sports.  In addition to achieving on the athletic field, the award winner is a team leader and successful student.  The female winners are listed on a plaque dedicated to the memory of Cliff Goerke, former principal of Waukesha High School.  The male winners are listed on a similar plaque in memory of physical education teacher and athletic director Frank Pichotta.  On both plaques the following description is included:  “For all-around athletic achievement, scholastic achievement and leadership.”

Alli Gardner:  Coach Gloudeman/Coach Schreier

Jacob Carlson