Team History

Waukesha South has an incredible tennis history, including state championships, sectional titles, state qualifiers, conference championships, collegiate tennis players, hall of fame coaches, and countless memorable matches. The Blackshirts welcome anyone to play tennis – new players to varsity veterans. Over the last ten seasons, the Blackshirts have reached enormous heights and seen incredible successes. Since 2010, Waukesha South has won three conference tournament titles (2010 and 2015 for the boys, and 2010 for the girls) and won three sectional titles (2010, 2014, and 2016) to add to their 1996 trip to Team State. The boys have sent 28 different athletes to individual state since the 2009 season, including Beef Van Riper, Ben Lock, Neal Johnson, Jordan Freitag, Max Finke, Garrick Read, Tyler Prater, Isaac Jordan, Eric Schneider, Dylan Teutschmann, Jimmy Groh, Derek Elder, Justin Seflow, Justin Gorski, Conner Barnett, Fernando Tejada, Sawyer “the Bonesaw” Dargiewicz, Brett Venzke, Al Tejada, Danny Perez, Matt Arvedson, Chandler Hall, Ben Graichen, Hunter Louis, Riley Teutschmann, Jon Arvedson, Tommy Ebben and Michael Tang. On the girls side, the Blackshirts have sent 11 different athletes to individual state since the 2010 season… Katy Allen, Kelly Johnson, Erica Van Riper, Karlie Laveau, Ellie Wilkie, Kassie Alexander, Brooke Elder, Rachel Muelrath, Rina Niehoff, Jaeda Walsh and Carley Schreiber.